Skip to main content
DistrictCampus
CAMPUS

Cherish Center

Laura Salinas

Laura Salinas

Coordinator

(956) 473-1772

lsalinas@uisd.net

 

8800 McPherson Rd. Laredo, Texas 78045

The United Independent School District Cherish Center is a renovated 21,000 square-foot facility serving special needs students from the District's four high schools. The Center offers two specialized programs. One is designed to help our students with life after graduation through an alternative vocational/career curriculum. This includes hands-on training in the following areas:

  • Business Media
  • Commercial Food Service
  • Hotel Hospitality
  • Horticulture
  • Retail Merchandising

A separate program for severely disabled students will offer them an alternative to homebound services or placement far away from home. The specialized units include:

  • PLC (Pre-Vocational Learning Skills)
  • SLC (Structural Learning Center)
  • Medical Fragile

The Center will advance the goal of the District's Special Education Program to provide education and training to all special needs students so that they have the opportunity to live more independent, successful and fulfilling lives.

Staff

Name Position Email Phone
Violeta Polendo Secretary vpolendo@uisd.net (956) 473-1771
Lucy Gutierrez Lead Teacher lgutierrez@uisd.net (956) 473-1778
Blanca C. Almaraz Teacher,
Retail Merchandise
balmar47@uisd.net (956) 473-1787
Sanjuanita M. Avalos Teacher,
Business Media
sjavalos@uisd.net (956) 473-1779
Geraldine E. Botello Teacher,
Hotel Hospitality
gbotello@uisd.net (956) 473-1773
Abraham R. De la Garza Teacher,
Horticulture
adelag14@uisd.net (956) 473-1780
Jose Maldonado Teacher,
Culinary Arts
jmaldonado78@uisd.net (956) 473-1782
Violeta Garcia Teacher,
Vocational
vsgarcia@uisd.net (956) 473-1780
Gerardo Palacios Teacher,
SLC
gpalacios@uisd.net (956) 473-1783
Sheila Peer Teacher,
PLS
sheilap@uisd.net (956) 473-1790
Arturo Flores Teacher,
SLC
aflores1@uisd.net (956) 473-1784
Erika Sanchez Perez Nurse esanch42@uisd.net (956) 473-1792
Jesus Diaz Teacher,
Medical Fragile
jdiaz68@uisd.net (956) 473-1781
Diana Barrios Office Clerk dbarrios@uisd.net (956) 473-1770

Cherish Center Navigation

Special Education - Resources

Special Education - Forms And Documents

Special Education - Links

Special Education - Legal Framework