Skip to main content
DistrictCampus
CAMPUS

Bilingual / ESL / DUAL / Foreign Language

no image available

Maria H. Arambula-Ruiz

Director

(956) 473-5242

marambul@uisd.net

 

BILINGUAL EDUCATION

United Independent School District is committed to all English Language Learners’ language and academic needs. Through collaborative partnerships with district/campus administrators, teachers, and parents, the goal is to grow successful bilingual and bi-literate students.

MISSION

All English Language Learners (ELs) will become proficient in listening, speaking, reading, and writing in the English language through the effective integration of second language strategies in the development of literacy and academic skills.

PROGRAM MODELS

The Early-Exit Transitional model builds on the EL student’s primary language and strengthens the English skills to prepare the EL student to be successful in English-only instruction not earlier than two or later than five years after the student enrolls in school.

The DUAL Two-Way model is offered to both English Learners and English Proficient students. The DUAL Two-Way model builds upon the student’s primary language while adding a second language (English/Spanish or vice-versa). The goal is to develop bilingual, bi-literate, and bicultural students. In United I.S.D., this model begins in Kinder and concludes in 5th grade.

The ESL Pull-Out model serves students identified as English Learners. The model targets English language development through academic content instruction that is linguistically and culturally responsive in English language arts and reading. Instruction is provided in a pull-out or inclusionary delivery model.

District EL Program Participation 2019-2020 Data

District EL Program Participation 2019-2019 Data

 

There are 29 languages represented in United I.S.D. They are: 30% English, 70% Spanish, 0.1% Vietnamese, 0.03% Cantonese, 0.03% Mandarin, 0.03% Pilipino (Tagalog), 0.02% Korean, 0.02% Arabic, 0.01% Hebrew, 0.01% Hindi, 0.01% Russian, 0.01% Yoruba, 0.005% Malayalam, 0.005% Panjabi (Punjabi), 0.005% Turkish, 0.005% Urdu, 0.002% Cambodian (Khmer), 0.002% French, 0.002% German, 0.002% (Afrikaans (Taal), 0.002% Amharic, 0.002% Bulgarian, 0.002% Burmese, 0.002% Chaochow / Teochiu, 0.002% Farsi, 0.002% Gujarati, 0.002% Ilonggo (Hiligaynon), 0.002% Portuguese, 0.002% Telugu (Telegu).

 

Staff

Name Position Email Phone
Veronica Brown Compliance Coordinator vabrown@uisd.net (956) 473-2001
Sandra Higareda Compliance Coordinator shigareda@uisd.net (956) 473-2113
Basilia Vela Coordinator bvela@uisd.net (956) 473-2002
Michele Garza Coordinator michelet@uisd.net (956) 473-2133
Perla Sanchez-Flores Coordinator psanch57@uisd.net (956) 473-1818
Cynthia Lopez  Coordinator clopez59@uisd.net (956) 473-1816
Yadira Martinez Coordinator ymartinez@uisd.net (956) 473-2134
Dr. Julissa Liendo Coordinator jliendo@uisd.net (956) 473-1815
Maria A. Dominguez Coordinator mdominguez@uisd.net (956) 473-2082
Guadalupe Aguiar Coordinator gaguiar@uisd.net (956) 473-1817
Claudia Dominguez LPAC Specialist cdominguez1@uisd.net (956) 473-2003
Maria Santana Gruen LPAC Specialist mgruen61@uisd.net (956) 473-2262
Hilda Knapp Bilingual Clerk haknapp@uisd.net (956) 473-2113
Monica Reyes Bilingual Clerk mareyes@uisd.net (956) 473-1814

 

Bilingual / ESL / DUAL / Foreign Language Navigation

Bilingual - COVID-19 Parent Resources

Bilingual Links

Bilingual - Parent Information